Latest Industry Updates
Penny's Hill

Penny’s Hill Shiraz Wins Best Australian Red Wine

Penny’s Hill winery in the McLaren Vale has won Best Australian Red Wine at the esteemed Mundus Vini international wine competition in Neustadt, Germany. The title was taken by the winery’s 2014 Footprint Shiraz, which also won the top ranking Grand Gold award.

This year’s competition was as fierce as it was immense, with more than 5,000 wines from 149 different regions of the world all evaluated by a panel of 160 qualified and recognised wine experts. The stakes were high and among those 5,000 wines, only 39 Grand Gold medals were awarded.

Penny’s Hill Head Winemaker Alexia Roberts was more than satisfied with the award and rates the Mundus Vini win as exceptional compared to the many other international awards and accolades previously received.

“To be awarded the Best Australian Red Wine of show is truly rewarding and we are thrilled to receive this accolade in a category with so many other strong Australian wines,” says Roberts. “It marks the release of the 2014 Penny’s Hill reds and we are excited to get these wines into the market.”

Penny’s Hill 2014 Edwards Road Cabernet Sauvignon and 2014 Skeleton Key Shiraz also took home some of the glory, each awarded Gold against brilliant competitors. However, Roberts can hardly pause a moment to celebrate as she is still at the height of a great vintage, but plans to take in all the honour once the harvest is fully completed.

Image: Head Winemaker Alexia Roberts with Penny’s Hill 2014 Footprint Shiraz






Check Also

Iconic Winemakers

Exclusive Online Retailer ‘Iconic Winemakers’ Launches

Iconic Winemakers is a new online venture that is the first retailer to focus exclusively on Australian wine from selected independent winemakers. As an online only site, Iconic Winemakers aim ...

Feature Image 1

fermentAsian Awarded Wine List of the Year 2016

fermentAsian in Tanunda, SA has been awarded the coveted title of Wine List of the Year for 2016 at Australia’s Wine List of the Year Awards. The restaurant was named by ...